Small talk? Take a walk.

DSCF3068

Even birds don’t do it

A typical conversation between two total strangers in Ireland might go something like this:

Niamh: Hi, how are you?

Sinéad: Ah grand, you know yourself. 

Niamh: I do indeed… I’m Niamh. You?

Sinéad: Sinéad. So, where are you from, Niamh?

Niamh: Ballymccurtaintwitcher. You’ve probably never heard of it…

Sinéad: No way! My best friend’s boyfriend’s third cousin is from there! Do you know Paddy O’Houlihan?

Niamh: Oh my god! He’s my next door neighbour! 

Sinéad: Oh my god! What a small world! Fancy a drink?

Niamh: Well, I’ve already had 10… but why not?!

A similar conversation between two Latvians would sound more like this:

Janis: Hi. How are you? (I’ve taken some creative licence here as no Latvian would ever ask this question)

Janis 2: Why?

Latvians don’t do small talk.

The end.

About BerLinda

Adjusting to life in Germany, after living in Latvia for four years. Should be easy, right?
This entry was posted in Expat, Humor, Humour, Latvian people, Rudeness and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Small talk? Take a walk.

  1. Vaira says:

    Perfectly put! I have had several quite serious arguments with my husbad about this 🙂 I’m a Latvian married into a huge Mexican family. Answering “How are you?” is my daily life now, and still I feel that someone’s intruding my personal space with questions like these.

  2. Pecora Nera says:

    Italian are very touchy feely, every one kisses each other on the cheeks when they meet, Left first then the right cheek. Men as well.

    As an Englishman from the land of stiff upper lips an all, I found it rather strange to start with, but when in Rome..

  3. Charlie says:

    Try Finland: Two Finns met by chance after not seeing each other for 25 years and decided to go to a bar for a drink or two. After the third vodka, they ordered a fourth and one of the Finns raised his glass and exclaimed “Kippis!” (cheers). His friend replied, “Did we come here to talk or to drink?”

  4. Inga says:

    I would change answer “why” between two Latvians to “what do you want”? Intonation also have to include a sense of “botherness” – how dare you disturb me from looking sad and unhappy:D

  5. Mareks says:

    hi Linda ! And walking in the forest ?

  6. Clare says:

    Ha! Nicely put. Love the blog Linda.

Comments are closed.