Ode to my Bus Nemesis

 2013-03-10 15.03.39

You’re at my bus stop every day,

You never smile; that’s your Latvian way.

You’re thin and blonde, not a hair out of place,

While I’m a dragged out of bed disgrace.

The bus pulls up; it’s full as always,

This is shaping up to be one of those days.

We scramble on, try to cling to a pole,

And scan for a seat, the ultimate goal.

The bums on seats are smug, satisfied,

Faces stare straight ahead as though somebody died.

Then someone stands up, my heart almost bursts,

But of course, nemesis, you get there first.

Trapped as I am, some oaf on my feet,

I watch as you daintily take my seat.

You pout and fluff your still perfect hair;

I untangle my feet and resentfully stare.

Now this really wouldn’t be such a crime,

If you didn’t do it every damn time!

I’m still standing when we get to my stop,

You miss my look that should make your head pop.

The cold air hits, my heart sinks in sorrow, 

Knowing we’ll do this again tomorrow…

So, this is what I think about when I take the bus. Does anyone else have a ‘bus nemesis’ or am I just going slowly insane?

About BerLinda

Adjusting to life in Germany, after living in Latvia for four years. Should be easy, right?
This entry was posted in Humor, Humour, Latvian people, Poetry, Rudeness and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Ode to my Bus Nemesis

  1. There may be some insanity sneaking in …

  2. Sonja Chacon says:

    I have a what I liek to call my bus romance…we ride the same bus every morning. He is devastatingly handsom, we never talk, always at comfortable distance – but one day…. one day..;)

  3. traveller says:

    I haven’t got a bus nemesis at the moment, but that’s mainly because I haven’t got a lot of buses:) I do have a taxi nemesis (or two) tho. I am starting to think they just stand there staring at the sky and then, as I run up the road waving desperately for a taxi, they wink ever so subtly at the object of my desire and then slowly get in.

  4. 1WriteWay says:

    Linda, I’m so glad you came by my blog so now I can enjoy yours! Your poem about the bus nemesis is wonderful. I used to live in San Francisco and took the bus often. I never had a singular nemesis, but I’ve definitely (and too often) had the experience of missing a seat just because I wasn’t light-footed enough to gracefully grab it before anyone else, and then been stuck hanging onto the pole all the way home. I’ve read a couple of your other posts as well. I enjoy your sense of humor and give you kudos for writing such an entertaining blog!

Comments are closed.