When Irish (expat) eyes are smiling

Well my little sojourn in Ireland has sadly come to an end. I am, once again, back in Riga and it is, once again, snowing. In an effort to prolong the holiday feeling, I thought I’d share some thoughts on my lovely weekend – otherwise known as bacon-fest.

  • It is possible, but possibly not very wise, to eat your own body weight in bacon.
  • I now need a bigger freezer.

2013-04-02 00.30.43

  • Irish people do not paint eggs for Easter. We fry them and eat them with bacon.
  • ‘Chipper’ chips are even better than I remembered them.
  • Caramel bars are definitely smaller than they used to be.
  • Smiling, like riding a bike, is something that comes back to you when necessary.
  • Irish people really are wonderful. They’re warm, friendly and fun. They strike up random conversations at the bus-stop, in bars, in bar bathrooms, in shops… and there’s nothing sinister or fake about it. It’s just, well, nice.
  • Irish people start saying ‘sorry’ from around 10 feet away just in case there’s a slight chance they might bump into you.
  • If there’s a sign that says ‘No smoking in this area’, chances are you’ll see an Irish person standing directly underneath it – smoking.
  • If you tell Irish people they can’t go to the pub on Good Friday, by God will they make up for it on Easter Saturday. And Sunday.
  • It’s easy to see why Irish pubs are popular all over the world. Irish pubs are brilliant.
  • Unfortunately, they are also quite expensive. Hand over 10 euro to pay for two pints and the barman will stand there with his hand out until you hand over some more.
  • The graffiti in Hogan’s bar is just as entertaining as ever.

Β 2013-03-30 22.00.242013-03-30 22.00.32

2013-03-30 22.00.39

  • We need to bring Bulmers to Latvia.
  • We also need to start a campaign to bring Penneys here.
  • Going to a shopping mall seems to be the new Irish family pastime of choice.
  • Irish children are LOUD.
  • I’m never having children.
  • Sometimes the English in Ireland is as bad as it is in Latvia.

2013-04-01 12.25.05

  • Ryanair – for future reference, I do not want Ryanair Talk, I do not want Ryanair Travel Insurance, I do not want your Ryanair suitcase. When I’m on board your planes, I do not want calling cards, smokeless cigarettes, scratch cards or bus tickets. What I do want, is to eat my home-made sandwiches in peace. Even though it feels a bit Latvian, it also helps me feel like I’m beating your crazy system in my own small tinfoil-covered way.Β 

But for now, it’s back to grim, snowy reality and waiting for the Spring that seems forever beyond Latvia’s reach. Thank you to Ireland and my wonderful friends and family who helped put a little warmth back into my life. The Irish weather certainly didn’t.Β 

About BerLinda

Adjusting to life in Germany, after living in Latvia for four years. Should be easy, right?
This entry was posted in Bacon, Expat, Humor, Humour, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

48 Responses to When Irish (expat) eyes are smiling

  1. Anna says:

    AWW, now this really added Ireland to my list of destinations. Usually Scotland is my Promised Land, but you had me at friendly people, bacon and pubs.

  2. MI40 Review says:

    Helpful info. Lucky me I found your web site by accident, and I
    am surprised why this coincidence didn’t happened earlier! I bookmarked it.

  3. nbr903 says:

    Q 1. Why do Irish pubs have bathrooms? I know there’s a Czech brewery where you can take a bath in beer – but I never thought the irish would be into that sort of thing! (A waste of beer when it can be drunk instead!)

    Q 2. How come you can get a pretty picture of yourself alongside your posts, whilst all I get is a sort of random splodge?

    Q 3. Where did you say those bacon-flavoured…..er…..Oh, never mind!!

    • Expat Eye says:

      1. I could have said ‘bog’ but ‘bathroom’ sounded more ladylike πŸ˜‰
      2. I think it’s a very attractive splodge. It brings out the colour in your eyes.
      3. If I get my hands on those bacon flavoured …, I’ll let you know!

  4. Liene says:

    Sure we still have some snow, but there are sunny days in between as well. Besides, there are some good news, I’ve heard there will be a bit less snow during summer :).

  5. 1WriteWay says:

    Goodness, that was a short trip! I loved both your last post (checklist) and this one. (Actually, I love all your posts.) After reading this, I want to go to Ireland. Latvia, not so much πŸ˜‰

    • Expat Eye says:

      It’s definitely worth a visit! Yes, unfortunately the trip was far too short – got there on Friday afternoon and back last night – had to squeeze in a lot of family, friends and shopping in that time! But I’ll be back again in the summer! Thanks for your very kind comments by the way πŸ™‚

  6. Darren says:

    You flew all the way here (on feckin’ Ryanair) just so you could go to Hogans???
    Is Riga really that bad?

  7. Pecora Nera says:

    Where is my bacon?? I hope you had a great time. I can’t go foraging for bacon until Italy gives me my driving licence back

  8. Sounds like you had a great trip!

  9. Aggie says:

    I live in Ireland… 13 years…

Comments are closed.