Last Day in Latvia

Don’t worry, I’ll be back. I’m just going to work at a summer school in England for the next five weeks.

Lady Godiva waiting to greet me

Lady Godiva waiting to greet me

This has me feeling slightly nostalgic about my little life in Latvia. So instead of packing, organising documentation, cleaning my flat, getting my hair done, cancelling my gym membership, and eating, I thought I’d put together a little list of ‘lasts’ that I’ll be experiencing over the next day or so.

  • Tomorrow morning will be my last one waking up in my hugely comfortable double bed. For the next five weeks, I’ll be waking up in a single, boarding-school boy’s bed. (Complete with penis drawings if last year was anything to go by.)
  • Today will be the last day I have to cook or do washing up as three fabulous meals a day are provided. A full English to get the day off to a nice filling start, followed by a muffin for breakfast dessert, then lunch with more dessert, then dinner and another dessert. Last year, I put on around a stone. I will also not have to do my own laundry for the next five weeks.
  • Today will be the last time I get to spend a day by myself. For the next five weeks, I’ll be surrounded by students, teachers and other staff from around 7am til bedtime. This includes shower time, meal times, and pretty much all other times. Easily the hardest part of the whole experience for me.
  • Today might also be the last time I see the sun. Last year, the first thing I had to do when I got to England was buy a coat and scarf. In July.
  • Tomorrow will be the last decent shower I have for a long time. For the foreseeable future, I will be either scalded or frozen by the dribble issuing from the non-adjustable boarding school shower heads.
  • Today will be the last time I have to deal with Latvian people in shops and on the streets. Oh no, wait, there’ll be thousands of them waiting for me in England.

At least I’ll still be able to practise my Latvian.

About BerLinda

Adjusting to life in Germany, after living in Latvia for four years. Should be easy, right?
This entry was posted in Humor, Humour, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

48 Responses to Last Day in Latvia

  1. 1WriteWay says:

    Ahhh … so now that you’re going (gone) away, you can finally appreciate Latvia. OK, maybe not the country itself, but maybe the life you had in it πŸ™‚ The meals and laundry service sound wonderful but the lack of privacy does not. At least it’s only for five weeks πŸ˜‰

  2. DΕΎuris says:

    Ah right, they have two taps for each sink in England. Is it the same for showers too?

    This reminds me of two posts in some guys blog:
    http://www.alekssdinamo.lv/post/2974451696/anglija-suka-1-dala
    http://www.alekssdinamo.lv/post/3048116738/anglija-suka-2-dala

    They are called “England sucks” part I and part II. I’m not sure if you can understand that as there is a lot of cursing and slang.

    • Expat Eye says:

      I probably agree with about 30% of it – the drunks, the ambulances in the streets, etc – it happens in the town I’m staying in every Friday and Saturday night. I’m afraid to go out the people are so scary! But a lot of English people are lovely. Yes, they smile and they say hello and they ask how you are – but I like that. Being Irish, it’s the same there so it’s normal for me. We also have two faucets on our sinks – it just makes sense πŸ˜‰ But then, we have stoppers that actually work πŸ˜‰

  3. Woohoo! A vacation…of sorts! I’m going to sit over here and be jealous that I still have to do (sooooo much) laundry and cook our own food.

    • Expat Eye says:

      Just got back my first bag of laundry today. Only left it out this morning – all neatly folded and sitting outside my door πŸ˜‰ Nice!

  4. con jamΓ³n says:

    Believe those childish drawings are called ‘cock n balls’. It’s almost a national pastime as M can attest!

  5. Enjoy! It all seems worth it for the meals and laundry. I’m a bit jealous!

  6. good luck and don’t get cold while taking cold showers and/or rain πŸ™‚

  7. gina4star says:

    Ooooh that sounds amazing! Enjoy it lots and all the firsts of the five weeks too! πŸ™‚ x

  8. Pecora Nera says:

    Have fun in the UK, enjoy the bacon, beer and rain.. πŸ™‚

  9. pollyheath says:

    I’ve always avoided teaching at summer camps precisely because of the zero-privacy problems.

    Still, to hop out of Latvia for a while ain’t too shabby.

    • Expat Eye says:

      Yep! Not that many lessons happening in Riga during the summer so at least it’s guaranteed money. And I’ll treat myself to a few days somewhere afterwards – with a double bed and en-suite bathroom πŸ˜‰

  10. Have fun in England. Always good to have new adventures!!!

  11. bevchen says:

    Breakfast dessert! πŸ˜€

    I’m going to England a week on Friday. Hoping the weather won’t be too bad as the dress I bought for the christening isn’t exactly meant for cold weather!

    • Expat Eye says:

      I realised last year that it’s never too early for dessert πŸ˜‰ And joined a gym when I got back to Latvia! Fingers crossed for the weather for both of us! Really nice dress by the way πŸ˜‰

  12. rjschutte says:

    Looks like you might even miss the comforts of your Latvian apartment. It sounds good to me. Native English speakers around, no need to cook every day. No cleaning for 5 weeks. Always hot water available! πŸ˜‰

    I wish you a lot of fun and come back safe.

  13. I’m very jealous… there will be things like a Boots!!!
    What are you going to be teaching?

    • Expat Eye says:

      English to 13-17 year old kids from all over the world! It’s usually pretty good fun actually and I know some of the teachers from last year as well. Oooh, I miss Boots! Shopping in Rugby isn’t great but they do have Boots!

      • Like a summer camp thing? Nice to have an annual gig for variety πŸ™‚ I could do with a bit of variety myself, but am undecided how to go about it.
        ‘English’ Summer camps are very popular here in Spain, too, but I get the impression that the bulk of the teachers there are Spaniards whose English is A LOT worse than my Spanish…

      • Expat Eye says:

        You could always go to England and stock up in Boots and M&S for a few weeks! There are loads of them around the country – of varying quality. The kids have lessons in the morning, then activities or excursions in the afternoons. Sometimes a full-day excursion which means I get a day off πŸ˜‰ It’s a great experience for them!

      • I know… I lived there for 20 years… and I miss Boots, M&S and Waitrose most terribly!
        At least you’re not having to teach 8-hour days, that would be pretty exhausting, I imagine. I might get myself a TEFL certificate or whatever it’s called one of these days, just to have another option. I think I’d quite like teaching.

      • Expat Eye says:

        I think you’d really enjoy it! And it’s always good to have an extra option. The money is pretty good as well πŸ˜‰

Comments are closed.