The long road ahead

This morning, I tested the new Japanese group that I’m going to have for my last couple of weeks here at the summer school. After I’d collected the papers, I asked one student:

Me: How was the test?

Him: Blank (but smiley) face

Me: Easy? Hard?

Him: Yes!

Thinking to myself, ‘well, there’s always one, isn’t there?’, I decided not to get discouraged and instead, tried to engage another student in conversation.

Me: Are you tired?

Him: Yes.

Me: (I should have quit while I was ahead) What time did you arrive yesterday?

Him: Dangerous. (Puts head in hands) VERY dangerous.

Me: Mmm hmm. Gotcha.

I have a feeling it’s going to be a long couple of weeks.

About BerLinda

Adjusting to life in Germany, after living in Latvia for four years. Should be easy, right?
This entry was posted in Humor, Humour, TEFL, Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to The long road ahead

  1. Thanks for visiting my blog. I think yours is fun.

  2. Good luck and I wish you truckloads of patience πŸ™‚

  3. Ha πŸ˜€ I had the same conversation pattern with few people from Thailand πŸ™‚ The guy always wanted to eat “yes”.. Good luck with the group πŸ™‚

  4. Are you trying to piss off the nation of Japan now, too?

  5. gina4star says:

    haha! brilliant! rather you than me πŸ˜› good luck! πŸ™‚

  6. 1WriteWay says:

    Good luck, Linda! But at least they are smiling; that is, they are not hostile … yet. Well, I can’t imagine them being hostile with you πŸ™‚ And the one bloke might have been trying to tell you that he had a VERY dangerous arrival, never mind the time πŸ™‚

    • Expat Eye says:

      Thank you for trying to find some sense in it! They’re really sweet actually. Every time you correct something, they say ‘sorry, sorry, thank you, thank you’ like you’ve just done them the biggest favour in the world! Telling the time today – seems apt. And a bit of ‘What’s the time Mr Wolf?’ – weather allowing!

  7. bevchen says:

    At least your attempts at conversation with them should give you plenty of blogging material πŸ˜‰

  8. Dee Bee says:

    I’ve had the reverse, where that was me in Japanese class >_< I had it all 4 years of high school, and I still can't string together a sentence in the language! I just feel like English is so insanely different, especially the grammatical structure. Ahhhhh!

  9. At least they seem to do a range of facial expressions including the smiling thing… there is still hope…

  10. rjschutte says:

    You will have a lot of very surprising coversations :-). Sounds very challenging. Maybe you try to speak Japanese?

Comments are closed.