You’ll miss me when I’m gone

Well, my dear Latvians, our time together is almost at an end. Try to hold back the tears. While I know that you’ll miss me desperately, fear not, there are several other foreigners out there writing blogs on Riga/Latvia too. Of course, none of them can quite replace me, but maybe all of them together can half-fill the void I leave behind. Here is a selection for you to get acquainted with, while I try to figure out how to fit my entire wardrobe into one suitcase. 

Still no leopard print

Still no leopard print

First up, it’s one for all the foodies out there. Food in Riga is a brutally honest, often very funny, look at the restaurants here. The review of Lielais Kinas Muris even made me wince a couple of times, and that’s not an easy thing to do. It’s written by Michael, a Swedish guy, who I’m currently trying to lure out for a pint because Scandinavian guys are hot I like talking about food. 

Next up is Heather over at Ferreting out the Fun. She’s only been living in Riga for a little over a month and I’ve had the pleasure of meeting up with her a couple of times. Her blog focuses on various touristy things you can do in Riga, and I’m sure once she finds her feet, she’ll be venturing further afield as well. So if you’re feeling a bit suicidal after reading a few of my posts, I recommend checking out her super-positive blog. 

One that I’m particularly interested in is the perpetually confused Englishman in Latvia. He’s already got the Death Stare from his Latvian fiancée, so depending on what she lets him write, this could be fun. He’s also working on renovating an old house in Limbaži, muddling through the various pitfalls of dealing with Latvian tradesmen, and almost being killed driving to and from his house. Spelling and grammar aside (well, he is English), this is one to watch. 

Life in Riga is a semi-foolproof guide to moving to Latvia. There’s no such thing as a foolproof guide to moving here as you have to factor in the Latvians. Written by a Scottish guy and two locals, it’s a practical, honest guide to what you can expect when you move here. Their post on driving in Latvia gave me an extreme case of writer’s envy and I can’t give a blog higher praise than that. 

And last but not least, it’s my good bluddy John over at The Real Riga – yes, it’s another pesky Irish person writing about the places Latvia would rather foreigners didn’t see. John is on a mission to visit all 58 shitholes districts of Riga, “warts, šašliks, Valmiermuiža and all”. He often saves the very best places for me so next weekend, we’ll be hitting Sarkandaugava. I’m sure I’ll love it. 

If anyone knows of any other blogs on Riga or Latvia, pop them into the comments. I’ll let Delores sing us out – because yes, other countries have music too. (All together now ‘Du be duh, du be duh…’)

 

* To my fellow WP bloggers, my comments are being treated as spam at the moment, so if you’re wondering why I’m being so quiet, I’m not. I’m probably just languishing in your spam folder. Fish me out please! 

About BerLinda

Adjusting to life in Germany, after living in Latvia for four years. Should be easy, right?
This entry was posted in Expat, Food, Humor, Humour, Latvia, Latvian people, Riga. Bookmark the permalink.

182 Responses to You’ll miss me when I’m gone

  1. Germany, huh? That’s great Linda! We used to live in Berlin and it’s a fabulous city. When you arrive they’ll never know what hit them. 🙂 Hope your move is smooth. Can’t wait for the fun to begin. ~Terri

  2. Pingback: No sleep till Sarkandaugava | The Real Riga

  3. rower says:

    being at such a large auditory audience, i’m a bit afraid of staigefraight. could we manage a private storytelling session ? ,)

    there happ’nd a young man from Riga,
    who rhymed just kņiga and nigga.
    he hook’d for a lady,
    poor Linda O’Grady,
    great looks, larger soul, blog* yet bigger.
    *(original version had different onesylable word there, starting with same letter)

    and that reminds of an old story. once, a well known russian poet, Vladimir Mayakovkiy*, walks out of bar with two nice girls by his hand. girls ask him to tell an improvisation, a rhyme on something he sees. what he sees – is a drunk, lying in puddle. he says “a lifeless body lyin’ here, our path in life is blocked…”. — now drunken body says — “you ever posed that you care — to hell you go now fucked!” — “oh, girls, let me introduce, my friend, Sergey Yesenin*”.
    *Mayakovskiy had quite distinctive rythm in his poetry, and rhymes were a secondary thing, Yesenin o contraire was less into rythm, more into “classical” rhyming patterns and his poetry is signed by dark thoughts and general sadness.
    and,yes, there is similar story (with sligtly changed rhymes) about pushkin and lermontov 🙂

  4. wasd says:

    Sad because you are leaving, but happy at the same time because now I will learn how to survive in Germany 🙂 Cant wait for the first posts to come.

  5. whoa. this was really sad! I had to stop the music because it put a downer on the room. you ARE going to bring your blog over to Germany, right??!

    also, we had an Irish waitress at the bar the other day and I got unreasonably happy to talk to her about it….but that could also be the giddy newness happening over here.

  6. rigaenglish says:

    I was thinking of writing a song to mark your exit. An updated (and likely heavy on the synthesisers) version of Dr Hook’s “If not you.”

    “Who’s gonna come with me to Bar Diva?
    Who’s gonna get shouted at in Daugavgriva?
    Tell me whooooo, if not you?”

  7. Onward to the land of strudel and good beer! Looking forward to following you to your next destination (and quite frankly a place I’m more likely to visit). When are you officially closing up shop?

    • Expat Eye says:

      I’m not sure yet! I finish work here at the end of August, then Anna is coming to visit at the start of September – not sure whether to finish up before or after that. Kind of running out of inspiration now!

  8. rower says:

    i’m to laizy to read through all the comments… however, all this “weh nach deutchland” thing reminds me of an old anecdote. like, an ordinary bloke dies, and St.Peter tells him, that the bloke is more or less on the borderline, and is granted the choice of Hell or Heaven. for sure – the bloke wants to look how it looks at both places. okay, they wisit the Garden of Eden for a couple of days and all the Heavenly Parks and Plaines – and the bloke sees like everyone is apeace and dudes, all dressed up in white, walk the promenades of Heaven, read newspapers and books, and everything is more than calm and silent, and polite, and generally stiff. Then they visit Hell for a short time and the guy sees that there’s fun: free wine on every corner, frivolic nice ladies, lot’s of stuff to eat, look at and take part in. “ookay, i’ve seen how it’s there, i choose Hell”. and now two deamons arrive with pitchforks and stuff, and they quickly impale the dude on those pitchforks and drag towards huge cauldrons of boiling brimstone. “hey! it’s not what i’ve seen before!” — “oh, man”, one of deamons says,”you should not mistake visiting for immigration!”.

    and too bad that you are leaving during this nice weather. *sniff*

  9. CrazyCatLady says:

    You’ll miss the internet connection. I’ve never had it but anything that’s not BT Infinity (the most expensive plan, of course!) has to be better. Mind you, Talk Talk and Virgin are absolute shite so … Yeah, right now I’d move to Latvia to escape this madness. Eat cake and sit in the virtual world 😀

    • Expat Eye says:

      That’s one of the many things I’m nervous about! I need a good internet connection – for work apart from anything else! Hoping I can get it sorted quickly but not overly optimistic!

      • CrazyCatLady says:

        I’ve heard (underline “heard”) that Germany is worse for setting up internet than the UK. While here complaining is the national sport, I’m of an impression that über efficient Germans aren’t quick to respond to, nor acknowledge their shortfall when it comes to their substandard internet provision service.
        As for me – it’s coming up to 10pm and the BT engeneer still hasn’t been despatched, 7 hours later (and our house is without a phone line & wifi (I’m on 3G, using my mobile). Even though this case was supposed to be treated as urgency (we’ve a baby at home and a working landline is a must; mobile signals aren’t reliable at the best of times so it’s a no brainer).

      • Expat Eye says:

        Ugh, what a nightmare! Hope they show up tonight!

      • bevchen says:

        My internet connection was sorted within a week at my old flat and within 2 days where I am now. Just don’t go with Telekom and you’ll be fine 😉

      • Expat Eye says:

        That’s good advice! Thank you!

  10. Diana says:

    I will be looking for your expat eye on Germany, but I wonder if you will find as much entertaining material there?!?!? Well…wait…maybe YOU will! Ha, ha, ha, …I supposed it is YOU who is the entertaining one! Have a good move…..

  11. bevchen says:

    I just fished a comment from you out of my spam folder, but I still can’t find it on the post to reply to. What is going on?!

  12. Emmi says:

    oh Linda! one thing you have to do is post a pic of yourself on a german dating site and go on lots of dates with german guys!!!

    believe me you ll have enough funny blog material for weeks=)

  13. My phone won’t play the video. Will check it out on my computer. I can’t believe it’s that soon! You’re off to Germany. Sharn is off to Tonga. I’m off my rocker.

    Can’t wait to read about Deutscheland! As I was scrolling down abs saw your clothes hanging, I instantly wondered “hmmm. Wonder if Linda picked up a leopard print add a souvenir. ..” The next line I read indicated otherwise. BUT YOU SHOULD! If nothing else, you can wear it for Halloween.

  14. Aussa Lorens says:

    Woah wait. Are you shutting the blog down? Or just taking it in a new direction, as you yourself go in a Western direction? OMG I’m bad at geography, it is West, right? I need to know answers to both of these questions.

    • Expat Eye says:

      West 🙂
      I’ll leave the blog up but won’t be adding anything else to it. Expat Eye on Germany will be up and running shortly!

      • best news of this morning 🙂 Can’t wait to read that one! BTW reading you to have good time and always laugh like crazies has become a tradition with morning coffee for me and my husband. At least once a month I would read him bits and pieces of your excellent stories. Thank you – once again for sharing your life and letting us all to have good times with you 🙂 Have a safe move to DE and don’t miss la Lettonie too much ;)))) Signe P.S.
        (I have visited DE several times for longer travels too and I am really curious to read your take on it… mine – summed up: I would go back to visit anytime but won’t be able to live there… sorry, dear German readers 🙂

      • Expat Eye says:

        Ha ha, they might regret me thinking I’ll be able to live there! Time will tell! Love you and your hubby’s tradition! Hopefully you’ll still get some giggles out of the German edition!

      • rower says:

        not that much west. more like south.

      • Expat Eye says:

        Picky picky 😉

      • Aussa Lorens says:

        Aha! Okay well don’t let me lose you.

      • Expat Eye says:

        I won’t, don’t worry! 🙂

  15. I have a very evil idea. You’ll be gone by then but you might get some amusement from it anyway.

  16. While Latvia weeps and gnashes it’s teeth, we in Berlin, await your arrival on the red carpet and bearings gifts of beer and vodka!

  17. Nerdator says:

    Okay, I almost regret that I’ve plunged into Real Riga’s archives deep enough – blimey, I’m living in one of the most criminalised districts of Riga! Yesterday I was blissfully ignorant, and now I’m thinking of where to plant tripwires and dig trou de loups in the patio (which still isn’t gated, ¿where does my bleeding apsaimniekošanas money go?).

    • Expat Eye says:

      Ha ha! I know, right? It’s a miracle we’ve survived this long! I, for one, am very proud 🙂

      • Nerdator says:

        I’ve lived here for almost 5 years now, and none the wiser until yesterday! I wonder if I should feel particularly proud. 🙂

        In all fairness, I’ve always known the area isn’t the best out there – and being generally low-income and right next to a bunch of old industrial blocks is almost an obligation for dodginess – but not outstandingly or almost proverbially and legendarily so, no. 🙂

      • Expat Eye says:

        It looks a bit dodgy, but I’ve never had any problems – the drunks mainly keep to themselves! And hey, we’re not in the worst area! (If memory serves!)

      • Nerdator says:

        I’ve looked again (oh, no) – only Torņakalns and the Moscow Suburb are worse on assaults (not counting the Old Riga) – and not by much. And only the Moscow Suburb is worse on murder. (Though the drunks who look fairly peaceful in the street can just as well turn on each other for that last glass of moonshine in the privacy of their own homes. :))

        I’d also say that Avotu Street proper is probably the least dodgy part of the Avotu district – there are much worse areas there.

      • Expat Eye says:

        The bar closest to me has some very dodgy-looking characters, but they never say anything to me. I doubt they even see me 😉

      • Nerdator says:

        No, I’m not visiting those bars (I know the kind) unless I get a permit to carry a bazooka. 🙂

      • Expat Eye says:

        Yeah, I just walk past – quickly 🙂

  18. Daina says:

    I cannot wait to see what you have to say about Germans and Germany!! Although I suspect some people might argue Berlin isn’t the ‘real’ Germany. 🙂 Good luck with packing!

    • Expat Eye says:

      Ha, I guess you could argue the same about any capital city, but I’m sure it will be just German enough for me 🙂 Just over a month to go! Huzzah! You’ll have to live vicariously through Heather from now on 🙂

      • Daina says:

        Very true re: capitals. Oh yeah, I’ll definitely be following all the blogs, especially Heather’s. She and I actually met last fall before I even knew that she had such a gorgeous travel blog! And I need to try to make it to Latvia a bit more frequently – my last interval of 8yrs was too long. Problem is that there are so many other places I wish to visit as well! Sigh, the problems of a traveler…. 😉

      • Expat Eye says:

        Especially when you have the added burden of visiting ‘home’! I won’t make it back now until Christmas – not often enough either!

  19. linnetmoss says:

    Getting thirsty thinking of all that German beer. But I suspect you’ll have less to write about there. Aren’t the toilets immaculate?

  20. TRex says:

    I call dibs on your new washing machine. When can I pick it up?

  21. Alex says:

    Thanks for the mention Linda! Much appreciated 🙂

  22. I am already excited to reading your new blog! 🙂 good luck with the move… you will love Germany! 🙂

  23. Cindi says:

    I have to agree with you that most Scandinavian guys are hot. 😉

    But talking about food is good, too, especially with one of them. (Cooking with them is even more fun.)

    I’ll enjoy exploring the other bloggers you’ve linked to. And I’m eager to read of your Berlin adventures!

    • Expat Eye says:

      Thanks Cindi! Making progress with the Swede – giving his blog a plug on mine is a good tactic haha! 🙂 I’ve cooked with a Scandinavian before – it was great. I drank wine while he cooked – my favourite kind of kitchen activity!

  24. Your Expat Eye on Latvia will indeed be missed! (includes hissing, spitting, belly splitting laughter reactions)

    Looking forward to the new avatar!! And good luck packing… 🙂

  25. Question: is the Englishman in Latvia’s wife soon to be Latvian? Or is a Latvian woman about to become his wife? Just wondering how the Death Stare fits in that journey.

    I am going to check my spam folder for your comments in a moment. I would hate to think I’ve missed a limerick-off with you.

  26. SilvyRiga says:

    My blog! 😀 it’s in Italian and it’s called Estonian Adventure but it’s about expat life in Latvia (at the moment and for some more months…)

  27. Anna says:

    Hm…. nada in my spam.
    Gonna go read about Latvian food now – less than a month to go!!!

  28. Lasma says:

    I love you very much, you know that! Things will work out no matter what happens! Just something I had to say.

  29. bevchen says:

    You realise you made it sound like Englishman’s wife will soon be Latvian, rather than a Latvian will soon be his wife? 😉

    Ugh, packing. I spent most of my childhood packing und unpacking, and I still hate it! Good luck.

  30. EuroPeen says:

    Oooh, I can already visualize KasJauns article under a title “The Latvian-hating Irish woman (finally) leaves Latvia for GOOD” accompanied by few hundreds of reader comments a la “don’t that whore ever think of coming back to our soil” etc etc. 😀 sorry 😉 i’m just jealous. you don’t deserve to go to Germany 😀

    • Expat Eye says:

      Ha ha! No, I probably deserve it – not really 😉 Once I’m gone, they can write whatever the hell they like – my ‘horny too long time’ self will be happy elsewhere! 🙂

      • rower says:

        ** note to self: gather some of Lindas’ blog readers and lovers and organize a demonstration/parade. slogans must include *Linda, why now?*, *don’t leeev*, *trams are fun*, and *Latvia – the best place to spend your pregnancy*. ** note to self #2 — not to forget find two pregnant women to hold the last slogan. must look happy.

      • Expat Eye says:

        Ha ha! Good luck with that one! 🙂

  31. June says:

    Found you in my spam folder! Just the one comment, though – does that sound right?
    Looking forward to hearing about Germany. My blog is not about Latvia but covers lots of (mostly positive!) stuff about Lithuania, right next door. If anyone fancies a look it’s http://www.myfoododyssey.com.
    Linda versus the Germans – this could be very interesting, indeed…

    • Expat Eye says:

      One comment could be right – I felt disheartened when I saw everything disappearing! It was LOTC that figured it out – I’ll be back commenting again in no time! 🙂 And June’s blog is great – a totally different perspective from mine. Lots of great tips and some cock 😉

  32. The locals up there will miss you immensely Linda! 😉 I better the Germans can’t wait for you to arrive. On a negative and unrelated note, I noticed you had liked one of the Wandering Poets hate blog posts. Please check this out – http://wp.me/p3LSyI-JE. I look forward to reading your new blog!

  33. You know, I was quite proud of myself for stepping out of my own little world to learn about Russia and Latvia. Now you tell me I’ve got to start learning about Germany too if I want to keep reading?

    You’re really putting a lot of pressure on this midwestern American guy. It’s a good thing you’re writing is worth it.

  34. NancyTex says:

    Forget The Cranberries, this should be your anthem as you exit the country: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cmSbXsFE3l8
    “…When I’m gone…when I’m gooooone… you’re gonna miss me when I’m gone…”

  35. Sharn says:

    Good luck with the move and here’s to reading about Germany 😉

  36. lizard100 says:

    ‘Soon-to-be Latvian wife’ but she’s got to be Latvian already?

  37. Where in Germany are you going Linda? I’ll be in Munich next week 😀

  38. Mihnea says:

    Sad that you are already leaving, less than one week after I’ve discovered your blog 😦
    I believe you like this song: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cmSbXsFE3l8 🙂

    One curiosity: since you are moving to Germany, will you be changing the name and URL of your blog or start a new one?

    • Expat Eye says:

      Oh, that song brings back memories from summer school last year! My students drove me nuts tapping cups on the table 😉
      I’ll be starting a new blog but still leaving the Latvian one up. I’ve registered Expat Eye on Germany but it’s private at the moment – need to play around with it before going public. And move to Germany so I have something to put in it 😉

  39. Paul says:

    We’ll be waiting with bated breath to see how you slice and dice Germany Linda. Ah the perfect Germans, they don’t have any idea what is coming – their national ego is about to take a hit. Ha! 😀

    • Expat Eye says:

      Ha ha! My mam is already warning me to be nice about the Germans! Her cries fell on deaf ears here so it probably won’t work 😉 I like the Germans though so maybe I won’t have anything bad to say! 😉 Maybe.

      • Paul says:

        Honestly, I like Germans too – the ones I have seen here. I find them honest, smart and generally caring. BUT any I have met have huge egos – they think highly of themselves. Sometimes rightfully. When I was a teen (about 40 yrs ago) my Dad had a colleague who was in his early sixties at the time who was German and fought as a tank commander in WWII under Rommel in the North African desert. His stories were phenomenal – a couple of drinks of schapps and he would be storytelling. He – Harry – told one story of when the tank companies were facing the British and had no spare parts or chance of reinforcements – they were cut off. The British knew where the Germans were and were preparing an attack. Rommel ordered all the tanks that needed repairs to be stripped – about 30 of them . He just left them mobile with a bit of fuel, no ammunition, no supplies, no non-critical parts. He put one tanker in each tank and formed them up at dawn in rows and had them driven directly at the British. Meanwhile, the good tanks stuffed with spare parts, ammunition and fuel from the broken ones, split into two sections and flanked both sides, out of sight. Rommel sent a couple of trucks behind the broken tanks and when the British came in sight, the tankers jammed the fuel and steering (they were prepared for this with sticks of wood) and dropped out of the emergency exit in the floors of their tanks. There was just enough clearance for the tanks to pass safely over top of them and the trucks behind picked up all the tank drivers and fled behind the lines. The British, thinking they were facing Rommel’s main force, turned inwards to aim at the approaching empty tanks. The working German tanks meanwhile had circled around behind the British and blew the hell out of them while the British were focussed on the empty derelict tanks.The Germans won against overwhelming odds.

        All that to say that Germans, in my experience, are smart, quick, focussed, determined folks. And I’m sure they will be no match for Expat Eye on Germany – against overwhelming odds. Ha! Happy moving Linda. 😀

      • Expat Eye says:

        Ha ha! Wow, great story! That guy sounds like a real character! Me vs almost 82 million Germans – I don’t like my chances but I like your optimism! 🙂

  40. Heather says:

    Thanks for the shout out! I don’t know about the Latvians, but I’ll certainly miss you! 😉

    We’re branching out to Liepaja next weekend but I’m pretty sure my weekend won’t be as exciting as yours. I’m going to need the details on that brunch place, though.

  41. Charlie says:

    Oh my lord. I literally found your blog yesterday and you are going where? I have been smiling smugly reading off your blog over the weekend. 🙂 Are you never coming back?

  42. Awww, I will miss your posts about Riga and Latvians, but anyway looking forward to read stories about Germany. I hope stories will be the same excellent!:)

    • Expat Eye says:

      I hope so too! 🙂 I probably would have run out of stuff to write about Latvia soon anyway I guess – kind of a miracle I kept it going as long as I did!

      • and if you ever start to feel you’re out of ideas what to write on germany, you can always turn to acting like a latvian in Germany, and then describing how Germans like that. or not 🙂 Anyway, shall miss your awesome rant on latvia, but sure hope a new German page in your life will be just as awesome

      • Expat Eye says:

        I hope so too! It will probably be a bit chaotic to begin with – and it will take me a while to get to grips with the Germans’ oddities 😉 I didn’t start this blog until I’d been living here for almost 2.5 years so I’d had plenty of time to notice stuff!

      • nah, that would not work this time, girl. you have audience and followers now. And celebrities must do their part (look great, smile, and give interviews (write blog) regularly) or next it’s a nasty visit from some paparazzi or… worse – some stalker 😉

      • Expat Eye says:

        Ha ha! I reckon if I didn’t get visited by a stalker here, it probably won’t happen in Germany! But I guess you never know! 🙂

    • They will be… the bureaucracy alone is going to send her head – and her new blog – spinning 🙂

  43. Where is your next destination? Home? Another country?

Comments are closed.